Making Cookies

I have started a tradition with several kids in the neighborhood that I make them cookies on their birthdays. Here is Gabby making his birthday cookies:

DSC_6789He and I also made cookies together the morning after his aunt died. This is one of the ways in which we have become intimately involved in the lives of our neighbors. Yesterday afternoon our landlady came by to tell us that she wanted the house back. Today as I made cookies with Gabby I felt a mixture of sadness, knowing that this may not be possible in the future.

When I heard the news I felt heartbroken. The Lord brought us to this neighborhood and we have invested our whole selves in this neighborhood and the people within it. I feel like after a year we are finally fully part of the neighborhood.  We have put so much of ourselves into this neighborhood and the thought of leaving it makes me so so sad to leave. The kids have good friends who are our neighbors and we feel safe here.

The landlady actually  said we have a couple months or however long it takes us to find a place, but the problem is that we leave for the states in 17 days. We have 17 days to find a place and move all of our stuff. Everything about this situation is overwhelming. I feel so sad about leaving this neighborhood, and I was praying for a miracle all night.

One of the verses I always use with the kids is from Hebrews 13 and its says, “Be free from the love of money, be content with what you have for the Lord has said, ‘I will never leave you or fosake you.'” The Lord has been whispering to me this verse all day long. It doesn’t matter where we end up, whether here or in another part of the country, I don’t have to worry. It doesn’t matter if I never see these people again (although that would be sad), for the Lord has said he will always be with me.

DSC_6787

Here is us in front of the sign that leads to our house

Do I want to stay here in El Higuero (the name of our neighborhood)? YES! Do I hope something happens so we can find some ways to stay in this house or extremely close? YES! Do I want to keep doing ministry with the children of the neighborhood? YES! However, I know that the Lord’s plans are perfect and I can trust in him with all my heart. I am writing this when I feel sad about the house, and feel uncertainty clouding my every thought. I am writing this when I don’t know what will happen, and I am excited to look back and see that even though I don’t know whats going on I can be thankful to the Lord for what is happening even now.

Leave a Reply

