Update of things going on

We went on a Family Hike to the Jima Waterfalls. It was a

WP_20150418_014

Autry’s face is blocked out by the sun, but it is hard taking a selfie of 6 people.

WP_20150418_019 (1)

THe kids were such champs during the whole hike. We walked a total of 3 miles, and some parts had serious inclines. It is so much fun doing things like this as a family.

WP_20150418_018

WP_20150418_022

The river water was so clear a refreshing

WP_20150418_026

At some points I kind of felt like I was in Swiss Family Robinson. I am glad I know that there are no pythons in the Dominican Republic waiting to attack us.

WP_20150418_021 WP_20150418_033        WP_20150418_035WP_20150418_034

Our next door neighbor had a birthday party last Saturday as well. Here are some pictures:

DSC_6034

Sometimes when I take pictures of our kids in large groups I feel like singing, “Which one of these kids is not like the other one”

DSC_6053

Here is the birthday girl and her GINORMOUS cake

DSC_6045

Clarabelle and her friends. The middle girl is one of Clarabelle’s best friends here and one of the families that lives in our neighborhood that we have become really close to.

DSC_6069

At one point the mom threw about 300 peso coin (8$) in change up in the hair and everyone tackled each other to get some.

DSC_6067

Eating popcorn

DSC_6036

Everyone wants a picture with Gibson

I want to take a minute to ask you to pray for one of the families in our neighborhood. There is one family in particular that we have really invested a lot of time in. I try and visit them 2-3 times a week, sometimes more. Their kids are in our house every day.  The family consists of a grandma: Her oldest daughter and 2 sons, second oldest daughter and her son and 2 daughters, as well as her youngest son who is in his early 30’s.  We really love this family.

Recently the second oldest daughter whose name is Miguelina was diagnosed with cancer.  They have been misdiagnosing her for 5 months. It seems like no one really has direct answers, but they have told her it is either cancer in her bones or in her blood.  Either way it is bad. Today I was able to bring her to a town about 45 minutes away (which here where most people don’t have cars may as well be a couple hours) to start her cancer treatment. She will be in the hospital for at least the next month. Her three kids are 12, 9, and 5 months, they are super sad to be without their mom for this time. With the way things work, they will probably  only see their mom once or twice in the next month.

I was able to sit with her today in her hospital room, pray for her, and share the gospel. It is hard to know what people really believe because people always agree with you whenever you talk about the bible, but I am pretty sure she isn’t a believer. The only book she brought to read is her bible, and I pray that she will read it and as she reads it the words will penetrate her heart.

My heart is heavy as I think of what she is going through. Please pray that the Lord will give me the words I need when I am with her. Right now my goal is to try and visit her at least once a week, which will be difficult, but I really feel that the Lord wants me to be there for her right now. I told her that I was going to let people I know pray for her and she was really thankful for this. Please if you think of it pray for her.

.

One thought on “Update of things going on

Leave a Reply

