Real Life

It is easy to write on my blog when everything is easy, but who really wants to record their failures for everyone to see. However, more than ever I am seeing how our failures cause us to see just how much we need Christ. The times when Randy and I are arguing just before we walk into a house and are forced to smile. The times when my child is whining and then proceeds to throw a fit right before I am about to start to teach English class. What about the days when I just don’t want to do the ministry you are doing because I am too overwhelmed? This week I have been realizing that I have been focusing so much on ministry that I have been neglecting my primary ministry to Randy and my children, only to be asked to share this Saturday at a women’s bible study about the joys of being a wife and mom.I forget things and put things off all the time which makes Randy go crazy.  I also feel completely inadequate to address the needs of an almost teenager, much less the needs of an almost teenager from a different  culture who doesn’t speak English. Somedays I feel like I have no more to give.  Some days are just plain hard.

I have read this verse hundreds of times but lately it has had new meaning for me

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect i   n weakness.”Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. 10 That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

2 Corinthians 12:9-10

Thank you Jesus for my weakness, so that I can see all the more just how much I need you!

Here are some pictures of our life lately and they have nothing to do with this blog post, and for some reason I have no pictures of Addie

DSC_4618

My little girl who asks for extra homework so that she can write about princesses

DSC_4617

Autry and Merlinda riding bikes

DSC_4613

Gibson and his buddy at the Haitian School, Lafe

DSC_4604

We have a barber shop connected to our house, and Autry got his first haircut from someone other than dad. He used an actual razor blade to get the corners strait

DSC_4599

You can tell how thrilled he was as the barber (George) uses a razor blade on his scalp

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Real Life

  1. Can totally relate to this Emilie…during the months when Jason and Andrew were leading the parenting class at church…we had a few of our biggest parenting struggles with little-miss-L.
    And you’re also right in that in was such a good reminder of HOW MUCH I need Him and His strength and His wisdom and how that is an ongoing need.

    Knowing how weak and in need I am is a good place to be…though it’s hard too.

    Will be praying for you to know how to find the balance between out-of-home ministry and your ministry with Randy and the kiddos…even here in the states…I continually wrestle with this. But I think that’s actually a good place to stay because it keeps me asking Him, listening for His nudge as to where I’m supposed to be investing each day and trusting Him for the strength to do whatever He’s set before me. I can’t even imagine how difficult that would be for me if I was “out somewhere, away from home” on the mission field.

    This was a really encouraging post Emilie.
    Love, Kara

Leave a Reply

