Changing perspectives

This is the first time in my life that I am around poor people all the time. I see on a daily basis the great need that is around us everywhere and the need is real. When a beggar comes to my door asking for money, I give them food and they are thankful. I have to get out of the perspective that people begging for food are trying to take advantage of me in some way, because the one arm guy who comes to my  door once a week really can’t work, and there are no social services to help him.

I also have to fight against my perception of poor people. I have to remind myself that the cute little kids in our school that I have fallen in love with are not just poor kids who need a rich American’s help. They are not just pictures  opportunities to take and write home about. These are really living and breathing children who have real needs. What I am now beginning to realize is that it is true that these children have real and valid physical needs that I believe  we would be disobedient if we did not try and help, but physical help without the gospel is nothing.  Anyone and anything without the gospel is nothing. Which at the end of the day puts us all in the same boat.

This brings me back to Ephesians 2 again:

“And you were dead in the trespasses and sins  in which you once walked, following the course of this world, following the prince of the power of the air, the spirit that is now at work in the sons of disobedience am-among whom we all once lived in the passions of our flesh, carrying out the desires of the body and the mind, and were by nature children of wrath, like the rest of mankind. BUT GOD, being rich in mercy, because of the great love with which he loved us, 5 even when we were dead in our trespasses,made us alive together with Christ—by grace you have been saved

We were once all the same; sinners in need of a savior. But, God saved us by his grace. The only thing that separates us is those covered by Christ’s blood and those who aren’t. So, we will work even harder to proclaim the gospel and equip others to do the same. We will work hard to fulfill the great commission by  making disciples, and pouring into the lives of other believers that we meet. We will thank God daily for his grace that makes all these things possible.

1891365_10153931685225438_684654455_o1900275_10153931688145438_1394336838_o

2 thoughts on “Changing perspectives

  1. Mariah Anderson says:

    I’m so encouraged by your posts! Praying for you guys 🙂 I can’t wait for this summer. So much love! – Mariah

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

