Six People In One Room

Two weeks ago we moved into our friend’s guest house. It is one big room with a full kitchen and bathroom. We are so thankful the Lord provided this space for us through our friends. We are able to live here rent free and save lots of money for the Dominican. Some people have said, “Well at least it will help prepare you for life in the Dominican.” Well, the funny part about this is that we are going to have a house larger than we have ever lived in when we are down there for less than $400. But, for now we are here living in this small little house so that we can save every penny possible to get to the Dominican as soon as possible.

People keep asking me, “How is it?” I can honestly answer that I love it! It helps that the kids have more than enough space to play outside, ride their bikes and explore. Randy and I have sectioned off a place in the corner with a dresser and bookshelf that is “our room.” All four kids are in one bunk bed, we don’t have a dining room table, and there is no way to escape each other but I can honestly say that I love it. We were able to severely downsize which was great. Who doesn’t like getting rid of all the junk you have been carting around with you for years? I also remind myself that even in our new house we are living in more space than most people in our world live in.

We also love living in the country. It is quiet at night and we have even been woken up at night by coyotes. Claire has a dog to love on and the view all around us is amazing. We also live between two hills that I can run up and down during nap time.

It has actually made doing school way easier. I need to have something to keep the kids on schedule so they don’t tear apart the house. I like spending more time with the kids. I feel like I am getting to know them even better. This can be a good thing and a bad thing. Getting to know them better shows you the areas that they excel and the areas where they need a more discipline. There is no hiding in our new place.

This is not to say that there hasn’t been any rough times. Today after school I forced everyone to go outside and eat lunch because I couldn’t stand anymore mess, noise, and craziness. I wouldn’t let them inside unless they sat on the couch or in their bed so they couldn’t mess anything up and I could clean. Mess happens much quicker when there is only 500ish square feet to put stuff in! I was about to lose it today.

I am thankful for this time that the Lord has given us, and anytime that I feel overwhelmed or claustrophobic I can look back at this blog post and remind myself to be thankful for what the Lord has given us.

DSC_1781

View from the bathroom window

DSC_1777

Living Room

DSC_1776

“Our Room”

DSC_1774

Most of the house. Everyone gets one of those green bins for their clothes.

DSC_1772

Kid Bed

Leave a Reply

